05
Apr
12

NFC NVG (not very good)


NFC enabled bus stop in London I am very proud of my new NFC enabled phone, in fact I specifically chose it over a slightly earlier model because I think NFC is going get bigger and more important in the next  couple of years and I like to be in with the in-crowd. So imagine my delight when I discovered that the bus stop at the top of Tottenham Court Road, which I use to catch buses back to Marylebone, has an NFC touchpoint on it.

The touchpoint promises – Travel information and extra information from brands.  And curious I tried it out. All it offers is a link to the TFL mobile site.

Ok, that is travel information, but that’s not extra information from brands. I was disappointed.

I don’t know, but I suspect that Clear Channel are charging brands to put content onto the NFC touch points which is why there was absolutely nothing from brands there.  I would suggest that brands are offered free access and the opportunity to provide any content they want – even a tv ad I’ve already seen would be better than promising everything and delivering nothing. In that way a growing audience will be built. Of course you can argue that these things take time, but why waste time? It doesn’t make sense to offer more than you are going to deliver because my expectation from now on will be that the content behind ad funded NFC will be thin at best and non-existant at worst.

0 Responses to “NFC NVG (not very good)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Twitter Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 580 other followers

Get my feed

Posts Feed

Add to Technorati Favorites

Who’s linking?

Flickr of noteworthy things

Beer and hymns. At greenbelt 09 jerusale

Janine with exciting survey tool from yo

DSC00032

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 580 other followers

