Intern at Imagination


tommyredWe have an intern with us for two weeks. His name is Tommy Willis and he is working on three briefs for clients including one social media activation for Ford of Europe. I like the fact that his picture coordinates nicely with my blog colours. But that’s not why we offered him the experience.

We did it because he made an articulate approach to us and could demonstrate he was already interested and knowledgeable.  And because we had some genuine work we felt he could contribute to.

Here’s his blog – http://engagingsocialmedia.blogspot.com and Twitter feed http://www.twitter.com/tommymwillis

It’s nice to have someone around who can bring fresh perspectives and really contribute a new angle to our work. And he’s doing a great job.

And for anyone who is  still looking for opportunities I found this resource from Seth Godin’s blog. It’s  written by a grad called Charlie Hoehn http://www.slideshare.net/choehn/recessionproof-graduate-1722966 and is about getting a job in recession.

But if your key problem is that you have no idea what you want to do then have a read of this article by me that comes from the internet past. I wrote it 8 years ago and there are many dodgy links but it has some good learning in it from when I was desperately trying to work out what I wanted to do with my life after I graduated during the recession of the early 90s (pass me my pension book) Not for me the dynamic career path, striving towards that planning job I had always wanted. Instead I had no confidence and no clue. But I guess that makes me living proof that things have a way of working themselves out… http://www.channel4.com/life/microsites/B/brilliantcareers/multiplayer/frontline/sunday.html

Leave a Reply

