NaNoWriMo 2009


I might be an idiot – you can be the judge – on second thoughts don’t bother – but I am going to attempt NaNoWriMo for the 3rd time in my life.

NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month, where 1000s of people commit to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days during November.

My first attempt in 2007 failed after about 6000 words. My second, last year, resulted in a 51,627 word children’s book which I am half way through editing. This year, who knows whether I will succeed or not, particularly as I have recently had an impingement in my right shoulder that  makes typing etc slightly painful…

But I am not daunted! I can honestly say that finishing my novel last year was one of the most pleasurable and challenging things I have ever done. It felt like a real achievement and the whole process gave me a great deal of enjoyment.

It does become slightly obsessive, and you feel a little bereft at the end, but for anyone who has thought they could write a novel and lies surrounded by the carcasses of novels started and never finished I would recommend NaNoWriMo as the most likely way you are going to get it done.

If you feel like supporting/bullying/checking in on my progress during the month you would be more than welcome, as one of the drivers to complete is the pressure of knowing you have declared yourself to the world and will fail publically. Shame is a powerful force my friends.

The madness starts this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

