Experience International Women’s Day #beboldforchange


It’s International Women’s Day and I thought a positive story about great women I know  would be a good way to mark that. Compiling my list I realized I know some amazing women. Writers, teachers and academics, mums, nurses, project managers, bankers, real-estate agents, HR professionals and the rest! This can’t be an exhaustive list and I can’t name all the fantastic women I know around the world – you know who you are! – so I will keep my focus on creative, comms and marketing and women who are #boldforchange.

Kristen Streten – Yes I am biased, spoiler alert, she is my sister. But she has created a really great creative agency, Design Culture,  ‘Doing good things for good people’ together with her partner Steve Wilkins.  Clients such as The Foundling Museum and Payroll Giving demonstrate her quality as a Creative Director and Managing Director. (And I’m very proud of her.)

Lara Groves – Content creative at Imagination in London. Super talented and full of ideas – that she can actually make happen. Plus she gives back. She is a mentor with She Says. What more do you want?

 

Rachel Wakefield – Comms Manager of @greenbelt festival. Music teacher extraordinaire. Lay Reader. Is there nothing this woman can’t do? Full of life and energy and faith.

 

Nicky Old – Deputy Director, Partnerships for Schools

Nicky has an impressive CV in comms for government and public service organizations. She works hard on behalf of all UK Universities and I’d know I was in  safe and creative hands if I had her on my brand. Plus she always wears the best fashion. In envy…

Nichola Scola – Communications at Janssen Inc

For someone so skilled Nichi is lovely to be around. She was an Executive Director at Nomura before running her own consultancy (and family) and came up with a brilliant solution to make career and family work together by carefully targeting the company she now works for not simply waiting to be invited to apply. Big brains, big smile. Bold for Change!

We all know amazing women at all levels – we are lucky to be in a culture which – at its best – celebrates our achievements and doesn’t take us for granted.

#beboldforchange

Leave a Reply

